O Solé Mio!

In my Maui post, I had mentioned that I had gone to an amazing goat farm in Maui’s beautiful Upcountry.  Surfing Goat Dairy is an absolutely awesome goat dairy farm.  Surfing Goat Dairy is located on, as they say, “the beautiful slopes of Maui’s Haleakala Crater in lower Kula”.

While we were visiting, we had the wonderful opportunity to do a goat cheese tasting.  Now, I’m a huge cheese lover.  I literally haven’t found a cheese I don’t like.  Stinky cheese? Yes!  Creamy cheese? Yes! Pungent cheese? Yes! I just love cheese.  I haven’t tried every cheese out there – so I can’t say I love all cheese, but I’m game for finding out! [Side Note: The only cheese I’m hesitant on trying – ok, scratch that, terrified is more appropriate – is Casu Marzu – I mean, maggot cheese?! Hm. I guess I can’t knock it until I try it, right?]  You can imagine that I was having a ball trying all the variations of goat cheeses that Surfing Goat Dairy had to offer.  They even had a Fruit Quark with Lilikoi (Hawaii’s name for Passion Fruit).  I’m not even a huge Passion Fruit girl, and guess who came home with a jar?! Everything is absolutely phenomenally delicious.  One of the cheeses we tried was O Solé Mio (“My Sunshine” in Italian).  This is a goat cheese with sun dried tomatoes.  Sounds simple, doesn’t it?  Yes, it is.  But beautiful sun dried tomatoes in some of the best quality goat cheese I have ever tasted?  Now THAT simplicity is just wondrous.  Naturally, I bought a jar of it.

DSC_0192

I can’t say tonight’s dinner was all that fancy. Pasta, spinach, and chicken thighs.  Guess what else it had? Yup! O Solé Mio! Wooooo!!!

Cooked up some pasta. Then I just chopped up some spinach.

DSC_0196

I had some chicken thighs leftover, so I chopped it up, threw it in our pan and seasoned it with some garlic, thyme, oregano, and basil.

DSC_0198

Once the pasta was cooked and drained (reserving some of the water the pasta was cooked in), I simply threw in the chicken, threw in the chopped spinach, and drizzled in some olive oil.

DSC_0199

Then, I mixed in the whole darn jar of O Solé Mio cheese.

DSC_0194

Mix it up and there you have it.  Dinner with a lil souvenir from Maui.

DSC_0201

Sure, it’s a simple dinner, but simplicity works just fine, especially when you have those quality ingredients to make a simple night pop.

Was it delicious? What do you think?

DSC_0203

 

DSC_0204

Olivia thought the pasta Tasted Oh-So-Good.

~ M ~

Leave a Reply

