Risotto with Spinach + Peas

As much as I love vegetables, I will be the first to admit that I probably don’t eat enough vegetables. Scratch that. I know I don’t eat enough vegetables most days.  Although I always make sure to feed Olivia wholesome, nutritious foods, there are days I struggle with putting enough vegetables in her meals.  I am proud to say, however, that though it is a struggle at times, I have done a pretty darn good job 😀

Tonight’s dinner was a little indulgent, a lot of vegetables, and a whole lotta delicious.  I’m a sucker for Risotto. That creamy, oh-so-delicious risotto.  Makes my tummy swoon with joy. TJ makes a fantastic risotto with mushrooms that I’m sort of obsessed with.  Because mushrooms can be a bit on the rubber-y side and because Olivia only has about 4 teeth, I decided to make this risotto to share with Olivia instead.  It was also great because we had all the ingredients already on hand since most of these are staples in our kitchen.

I think making risotto seems to intimidate people because it seems like it would require a lot of work.  While risotto does require a bit of ‘babysitting’, it truly isn’t a difficult dish.  Your efforts will pay off!

Ready to get started?

What You’ll Need:

2 cans (14.5 ozs) of reduced-sodium chicken broth (The recipe for a homemade one is at the bottom of this page here)

A Few Tablespoons of Olive Oil

1 Finely Chopped Onion

Salt & Pepper (As I’ve said before, I try not to cook with salt in our house so I omitted the salt)

1 Cup Arborio Rice

1/2 Cup Dry White Wine** (I used a non-alcoholic wine. I’ve written more about it below)

1 bunch of finely chopped spinach (about 10 ounces or so)

1 package (10 ounces) of frozen peas, thawed

1/2 cup of freshly grated Parmesan cheese (who am I kidding, I used about 3/4 cup!)

2-3 Tablespoons Butter

What You’ll Do:

In a saucepan, heat up the chicken broth and 2 cups of water. Bring it to a simmer and keep it lightly simmering.  In another saucepan, drizzle in your olive oil and saute up your chopped up onions until they are translucent. This will take you about a few minutes.  Season your onions with some salt and pepper.

DSC_0030

Next, add in the arborio rice and stir until the rice is nicely coated and mixed in with the onions for about 1 minute.

DSC_0031

Add in your wine and stir for another minute or so.  The rice will absorb most of the wine up.

DSC_0032

Take about 2 cups of the hot broth and ladle it into your rice and onion mixture.  You’ll want to stir this occasionally. (Remember how I said you’ll have to babysit it a bit?)  Once that liquid has absorbed into the rice, ladle in about another cup of hot broth and stir occasionally.  Wait until the liquid has absorbed before adding yet another cup of broth.

DSC_0033

Keep going with this process until the arborio rice is tender and creamy.  You may not use all the broth up.  This whole process may take you about 20-30 minutes.  This is why people tend to think making risotto is difficult – it requires you to ‘stay’ with it.  But you can stir! I have faith in you!

DSC_0036

Once your arborio rice is ready, stir in your Parmesan cheese, peas, spinach, and butter.  Mix well.  Season with some more salt and pepper if you desire.

DSC_0038

You’ll want to serve this immediately for the best result.  If you’d like, top with a bit more freshly grated Parmesan cheese.

** VARIATIONS**

Contrary to popular belief, the alcohol doesn’t completely burn off when you cook with it.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I have no problem with some wine.  However, since Olivia would be partaking in this dinner with us, I didn’t want her getting any leftover alcohol.  We ended up this wine for a traditional wine.  It was a bit citrus-y than I would have liked in my dry white wine I would have cooked with in a Risotto, but hey…better than a drunk baby, right? 😀

TJ and Olivia weren’t quite ready to join me for dinner just yet, but I couldn’t help but sneak in a few bites of my own first!  Decadent, chock full of vegetables, and Tastes Oh-So-Good!

DSC_0039

~ M ~

2 thoughts on “Risotto with Spinach + Peas

  1. Pingback: Purple rice [Riso viola] | {LaCaccavella}

Leave a Reply

